Main Window - Thumbnail | Remove | Orphans...                    Ctrl+Del

Folder Popup Menu - Remove Orphans...

Volume Popup Menu - Remove Orphans...

 

 

This selection will remove any orphaned thumbnails (those for files that have been deleted or moved by another program) in the current tree, current folder, current disk or on all local disks.

 

If the option Automatically remove orphans in the Options | Preferences - Thumbnails dialog is checked, orphaned thumbnails will be removed automatically whenever you navigate to a new folder.

 

Some users prefer that orphans remain for deleted files. Keeping orphans can be especially useful for those files that have been archived to tape and subsequently removed as explained here.